A Fresh Start

Wow. I can’t believe it’s been over a year since I put up a blog post. I knew it had been a long time but I hadn’t realized it was that long. I’m not really surprised, though. 2013 was sort of a crappy year for me. Toward the end of 2012 I lost my mother, and at the beginning of 2013 I almost lost my husband. It took him close to four months to recover and needless to say I was completely fried by the end of them. For a while I was good, focusing on being thankful for his recovery, but I was tired. And slowly but surely some depression crept in. Nothing serious, but it wreaked havoc with my motivation. I had trouble finishing anything. Perhaps it was belated mourning for my mother – I’d barely had time to deal with her passing before my husband got sick, and it seemed memories and images of her would pop up out of nowhere all year long. Sometimes they made me smile, sometimes they made me sad.

I will always miss my mother, I know that. But I also know she would not want me walking around like a zombie. So I’m shaking off the dust of 2013 and looking forward to an invigorating 2014. My first step was to dive into my 31 in 31 plan. For each day of January, I am getting rid of at least one item from my house, either to trash or donation. I’m a bit of a hoarder so it’s often a struggle for me to purge items. But I’m off to a good start today, having placed two shirts and two plastic sports bottles in a box for Goodwill. So I’m ahead of the game already. Go me! 🙂

Writing, dieting, and exercise are all going to be addressed with more enthusiasm this year. But I’ll save the details on those for another post.  This post is getting long enough already. So Happy New Year to all, and let’s all have a magical and fulfilling 2014!

3 responses to “A Fresh Start

  1. Oh, Maura, I can certainly understand why creativity would be drained after suffering two instances like that so close together. Your probably still worrying about your husband even though he’s better. I salute your 31 in 31 plan! I so need to de-clutter, as well. Best wishes on your goals. As you say, a bit at a time adds up!

  2. 31 in 31 you are motivating me!

  3. I’m glad to see you’re feeling better Maura. It’s been a tough run for you lately. Glad to hear you’re off to a good start! We’re all behind you!

Leave a Reply

