My (non)Resolutions Update

Three months ago I wrote a post about the fact that I didn’t actually make any New Year’s Resolutions this year, instead choosing to focus on my accomplishments as they have happened, whether they were goals I set in January or not. This method has been much more successful for me, so much so that I find myself trying harder to add things to the “done” column. I don’t know why doing it this way works better (I suppose a psychologist would be able to explain it) but I’m just glad that it does. So here’s my updated list of accomplishments:

1 – Weight Loss – I’m still sticking to the Weight Watcher plan and it is still working so well for me. As of my last weigh in, I’ve lost 38 pounds so far this year. I feel great, and I am thrilled to be getting my body back in shape.

2 – Exercise – Now that I’ve lost so much weight, exercise is no longer the ugly, difficult chore it used to be. I won’t say I love doing it, but I definitely don’t hate it like I used to. And I am seeing major improvements in just a short time. For example, just this past Friday I was able to run three miles on the treadmill in just under 29 minutes. No way I could have done that six months ago.

3 – My manuscript – I’ve been working hard on it, applying a storyboard method to help me figure out where it’s going and where the weak points are. It’s been going very well and I think I’ll be ready to tackle the final draft fairly soon.

4 – Yarn busting – I’m still plowing through the stash, although that has stalled a little bit because one of my current projects is a slow and tedious one. But the stash is diminishing, bit by bit.

So how about you? What can you crow about so far this year? Doesn’t matter if it’s a big accomplishment or a small one. They all count here! 🙂

4 responses to “My (non)Resolutions Update

  1. Maura: Wow, lady, great job!! You’ve accomplished so much, and your weight loss is fantastic. I’m glad you found a goal system that works for you. That can be the hardest part. Congrats!!

  2. What fabulous accomplishments, and the year is only half over! Can’t wait to see what you do with the rest of your time.

  3. Dijana Harker

    I’m also excited to see what else you accomplish! Way to go!!!!! My goal for June was to finish the first draft of my manuscript before I turned into my kids entertainmen committee for the summer, and I did it, so I’m happy. Cheers!

  4. Thanks, ladies! Your support means so much. I’m looking forward to the second half of the year. 🙂

    And congrats, Dijana, on getting that first draft done. You’re timing is great. You can let it sit for a bit while you play with the kids. You will have a great, fresh perspective when you get back to it. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

