Five Little Dresses

So I went to the mall last Thursday to buy a graduation present for my niece. I found something for her rather quickly and thus had some time to kill before I was scheduled to meet with some friends afterward. I wandered into Macy’s and was just browsing around when I found myself in the dressy dress department. The last time I had been in there had been last December when I was looking for something to wear to my husband’s company’s holiday party.  I’d picked out several pretty, sparkly dresses to try on and then was faced once again with the awful truth that no matter how pretty and sparkly the dress, no matter what style,  my obesity would allow nothing to look nice on me. NOT a happy day.

But, oh, how Thursday was a different story. On a whim, I picked up five very differently styled dresses and tried them on. I was happy with each and every one of them. They fit well, and if I sucked my tummy in, they looked great. For the first time I believed that if I wore some sort of girdle or spanx type undergarment, it might actually make a difference. I can’t tell you what a jubilant feeling this was. I was even able to (mostly) ignore the obnoxious young girl who came into the fitting room next to mine and did nothing but LOUDLY complain about how the size 6 dress she was trying on made her realize how fat and out of shape she was. Her less loud and less obnoxious girlfriend dutifully told her she looked fine (I didn’t see her, but I’m sure she did look fine) but all she could do was go on and on about how “disgusting” she was. I’m sorry, but unless you’re less than five feet tall, you are not looking fat in a size 6. After my initial annoyance, I really didn’t even care about her vain rudeness. I was too busy reveling in the fact that I actually LIKED HOW I LOOKED in the dresses! I can’t remember the last time that happened

I almost bought one of them. It was a casual denim sundress that I would get a lot more use out of than the party dresses. But I didn’t get it. It was a tad pricey, and plus I want to lose another twenty or so pounds to get to my goal weight. But I did make up my mind that when I do get to my goal weight, I’m buying myself something new to wear, whether I really need it or not. I’ll deserve it. And who knows? Maybe that sundress will be on sale by then and I can get it for a bargain….and in a smaller size. 🙂

4 responses to “Five Little Dresses

  1. Damn straight you’re gonna buy that dress!

  2. You betcha! I might even get two! 🙂

  3. SO fun to see the results. You go girl.

  4. Thanks, Lynn!! It really was great motivator to keep going. 🙂

Leave a Reply

