I’ve Got Way Too Much Yarn

Image

And I’ve promised myself I won’t buy anymore until I use up my stash. It’s hard, though. There are so many beautiful yarns and patterns out there, I have trouble resisting. I can almost never walk by a Michael’s or Joann’s without going inside to browse. My husband gave me a gift certificate to a local independent yarn store and I am dying to cash it in. Just the thought of seeing all those wonderful colors and feeling those soft textures makes me go a little weak in the knees.

But I must remain strong. I’m just about out of room to store the stuff I already have. If I don’t exercise a little self control, I swear I’m going to wind up on one of those hoarding shows. My yarn will bury me alive. Not necessarily a bad way to go, but still….

So I’m on a mission to whittle down my stash. In fact, I’m hoping to give a lot of home knit items forΒ  birthdays and Christmas this year. I’ve made a dent, but I’ve got a ways to go. I love to knit and crochet, though, so the mission should be a fun one. And there are definitely worse ways to spend an evening than prowling through patterns.

I know that resisting the sweet siren song of yarn shops is going to be difficult, so wish me luck. And if you’ve got some secret stash of your own to get through, let me know. Perhaps we will tame our unruly piles together.Β Β  πŸ™‚

12 responses to “I’ve Got Way Too Much Yarn

  1. Ha – I still have a 1/2 finished baby blanket on the couch.

  2. LOL! Do I dare ask how old the baby it was intended for is?

  3. I don’t want to mention exactly how many half-finished projects I have 😦 but like you I am whittling down the stash, just so I can build it up again πŸ™‚
    fortunately, the handmade presents go down well and I’d much rather be crafting away at home than battling the crowded shopping centres!

    • I’ve been a little better about finishing my projects, but there are still a few unfinished ones hanging around. Designating them as gifts helps to get them finished. And you are so right – working on the projects is much better than battling the crowds. πŸ™‚

  4. I love my stash. It’s my best friend. At least, that’s what it tells me as it grows slightly larger with each trip to the LYS, Michaels, AC Moore, Joanns, or recently Hobby Lobby. (What Florida vacation could be complete without a trip to Hobby Lobby?) Sadly, as I look around the dining room, I realize it’s getting a little out of control. I have yarn piled up by the stairs to go into the upstairs closet; projects I started but likely won’t finish; patterns I can’t wait to play with but if I lost interest in…? Meh. But hey, I love my yarn. It won’t leave me, unlike certain other people. πŸ˜‰

    • I love my stash, too, but I have to face the fact that I also love to buy more. And I just don’t have the room to store it anymore. Plus, forcing myself to “go shopping” in my stash is turning out to be fun. It’s nice to see the various items again as I’m working on whatever project instead of them being stashed out of sight in a closet and, in some cases, completely forgotten about. And I’m looking forward to them being enjoyed as gifts!

  5. Will I be kicked out of the comments if I say I don’t knit?

  6. I’ve learned to discipline myself when it comes to buying yarn. It isn’t an easy task though πŸ˜‰

    J. G. Burdette
    http://byhookorbypen.wordpress.com/

  7. LOL ! I’ve gone through several mini-resolutions about yarn and stashing …. finish a WIP first, then buy yarn … no new yarn for x-weeks/months … use up from the yarn stash before buying new yarn … I’ve managed to keep to them for the most part … until a sale comes along …

    • Ah, yes, the dreaded sales….and of course the stores make sure to mail me notices of each and every one! But I really do have to hang tough for a while. I wasn’t kidding about lack of storage space. There is simply no more room at this inn! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

