New Year’s Resolutions?

Huh? Kind of an odd title for a March 30th entry, wouldn’t you say? Well, not really. I was all set to do a New Year’s Resolution post back on January 1st, but then I thought better of it. I’ve done them before on now-defunct blogs and they have always come back to haunt me. Those lofty lists that are written up with such enthusiasm almost always wind up making me feel like a failure come February or March.

I figured the game of life hands out enough obstacles without any help from me, so what’s the point of purposely setting myself up for a good psyche bashing? So no New Year’s Resolution post for me. I felt a little guilty about it, but I also felt relieved.

Now, this is not to say I didn’t have any goals for the year. I had actually written up a list in my journal back in October. More of a “bucket” list, really, that included places I’d love to visit, and new things I’d like to try before I kick. But some of the things on the list could have easily been converted to a resolutions list. But I held fast, and refused to make them official resolutions.

In all honesty, I didn’t think this was going to make any difference to achieving my goals or not. Surprisingly though, it did. The third week of January, after the obligatory procrastinating, I joined Weight Watchers©. I also pulled out the manuscript I’d allowed to collect dust for the last two months and started working on it again. Happily, the WW plan works for me, and the time away from my manuscript allowed me to see it in a whole new light. At last! Some good stuff to blog about – something else I had let fall by the wayside. I began looking forward to racking up a list of things I’d done.

Well, it’s still taken me a while to get back to the blog, and I hope today’s post is the start of posting on a regular basis. In the meantime, I’m going to take some pride in sharing what I’ve accomplished so far this year. Believe me, this feels so much better than looking back at a list that would only remind me of things I hadn’t done.

So here are my accomplishments so far in 2012, both personal and professional, and in no particular order:

1 – I’ve lost 18.2 pounds. I’ve still got a ways to go, but I am so happy with my success so far.
2 – Reviewed my current manuscript, and was able to objectively cut scenes that weren’t working and inject some new ideas into it.
3 – Re-connected with my writer’s support group. (Go La Las!)
4 – Cleaned out a couple of drawers and my china cabinet, donating whatever I could to Goodwill and tossing the junk.
5 – Sold a non-fiction essay to Sasee Magazine – my first professional writing sale!
6 – Made headway in using up my yarn stash instead of buying more.

So how about you? What successes can you share? Stay focused on the positive and you will be surprised how it motivates you to keep going.

Oh, and Happy New Year. 🙂

10 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions?

  1. Happy first quarter! I think you’ve got some great goals going and and congrats on making them. Who cares if it wasn’t done on January 1, right?

    I’m anticipating getting back to I’m A Writer camp after the kiddies’ spring break.

  2. I don’t normally post on blogs, but I loved this! Your message on staying focused on the positive and what you HAVE done, instead of what you haven’t is wonderful. I’m going to uses that idea on my kids to give them a little self confidence boost. Thanks for posting!

    • Thanks, Dijana! I hope this helps your kids (and you, too). I think we are all conditioned from an early age to focus on negatives and it makes us (or at least me) feel like we can’t do anything. I know I’ve always felt that big successes only happen to other people, never to me. But by focusing on the positives, I have been far more motivated to keep trying. And the successes are beginning to add up! 🙂

  3. Maura – Congrats on the weight loss. I’ve been in a program for a while (six months – and have lost 10 pounds). I think the discipline (and success) in one area of your life flows into the rest. I’m proud of you.

    I’m in an exercise class (that’s kicking my butt) but when I joined, I said I could do anything for twelve weeks. And they are holding me to that pledge. LOL

    Of course, you know I sold two manuscripts this month. (Hint-Not recommended with the time limitations of the exercise class and day job).

    And I’m solidly in the I’m A Writer Camp.

    Welcome back to the lala’s. I’ve missed you.

    • Way to go on those 10 pounds, Lynn!! Congratulations! You are the one kicking butt in so many areas in your life. I know you will reach your weight goals and beat those edits into submission. I’m so glad to be back with you and all the La Las. I missed it every day.

  4. You go girl! On all accounts, you’re doing great!

  5. I love the power of positive thinking. The important thing is to make goals. You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

