Counting the Minutes

So the Golden Heart and RITA Finalists are being announced tomorrow. Several writer buddies of mine have entered, and I know they are all on pins and needles as they count down the minutes, waiting to hear the results. I can certainly relate. I entered last year and spent the whole weekend before the announcement wandering nervously around my house until my husband dragged me out to a movie to try and take my mind off it.

I didn’t have a manuscript worthy of entry this year, so I’m concentrating my energy on rooting for all my buddies who entered, all of whom I have such enormous respect for. They wrote, they re-wrote, and re-wrote again, pouring their heart and soul into their stories. They polished their baby until their eyes were crossed, and then reached deep inside for the guts to send it out there for others to judge. Believe me, that takes an enormous amount of courage.

So my hat is off to those of you who entered. You inspire me with your bravery and perseverance, and I am proud to know you. Regardless of the official results, you are winners already.

Good luck to all of you.

7 responses to “Counting the Minutes

  1. If you’d told me you didn’t think your entry was “worthy”, I’d have kicked your butt. I’m not letting you off the hook this year!! 🙂

    I’m trying not to be nervous, but I’m not sure I can stay calm forever. Of course, that’s why God invented wine. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Carla! My ms really wasn’t ready, and that’s no one’s fault but mine. But it will be ready this year! In fact, if all goes well, I should have two entries.

    I am so proud of you and the rest of the La Las. You are a winner in my book!!! Enjoy the wine and think of it as a pre-celebration! 🙂

  3. You’ve so nailed it about the weekend before The Calls begin. Thank goodness I was gone all weekend on a writer’s retreat with my local CG, the Quinners. Three of us entered this year’s GH, one just published so no longer qualified for the 2012 GH but didn’t yet have her ISBN number for the Rita category. Bummer! The fifth Quinner was in the same place as you, nothing ready to submit. We’re working on fixing that for 2013, hope you are too!

    I must say, I feel like the most fortunate lady in all of writer-land to belong to TWO awesome critique groups. I’ve the best of both Online and Face-to-face critique worlds. Thanks for a great post, Maura. See you at Nationals!

  4. Fingers crossed for you, Jaye! I hope your retreat was productive as well as a distraction from waiting until The Call. You are so right about our critique group. They are awesome and I am so happy to be a part of it. With all the enthusiasm they generate, I am re-doubling my efforts to be ready for 2013! 🙂

  5. Well, *I* didn’t final in the GH but our CP, Jan Nash, did! What an exciting day we had absorbing the news. Nearly a week has gone by and I think she’s just now realizing her life has changed forever. As for me, I’m getting my writing life in order. Revised my 2012-13 goals and posted them right next to the little table where I sit and type. Hmmm….GH rolls around again in October, right? I’m game Maura. What about you? Lalala!!!!

  6. You bet, Jaye! I am definitely going to be a GH contender this year. If all goes well, I plan to have two entries!

    And the Irish in me loves the nifty green crazy cube!

Leave a Reply

